The End of the Status Quo is Near for Uber & Lyft

McCrank

Jan 5, 2019
Austin, Texas
What City & State do you work in?
New York, NY
I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but it looks like the end could be very near for Uber and Lyft - at least in California. Or, at least the end as things as we have known them thus far.

So, California is getting very close to passing this new law, called AB5, that would require all uber and lyft drivers to be re-classified as employees. It would also apply to all gig companies like Postmates, Instacart, Grubhub, all of them.

You know Uber and Lyft are operating on the edge. They're both huge money losers and this could be just the thing that will either push them over the edge or force them into a massive overhaul and reorganization. From my point of view, as a long-time driver, I'm guessing that in the long term, it will push them over the edge into bankruptcy and oblivion. I honestly don't see how they can survive this. They can't even afford to pay drivers 50% of the fares right now. And this will force them into paying far more in wages to drivers than they've paid in the past plus it will add all kinds of additional expenses on top of the raw wages.

According to QZ, AB5 would codify the test for determining whether a worker is a contractor or an employee that was outlined by the Supreme Court of California last year in its Dynamexdecision (pdf). The court instructed hiring firms to apply a standard commonly referred to as the “ABC” test, which says a worker is “properly considered” an independent contractor to whom certain wage and hour regulations don’t apply only if:
(A) that the worker is free from the control and direction of the hirer in connection with the performance of the work, both under the contract for the performance of such work and in fact;
(B) that the worker performs work that is outside the usual course of the hiring entity’s business;
and